Back in Action!

IMG_1048Well hellooooo, everybody!

Really long time, no blog. These last six weeks or so have been insane. First, Zan and I took a trip out to Jackson Hole, WY and Yellowstone National Park for five days toward the end of August. It was incredible — amazing views, fresh air, wonderful hikes and outstanding food.

As soon as we got back, it was time to start packing up our apartments for our move-in together on September 14! I’m happy to report that we’re just about settled into our new place (a few more pictures to hang and boxes to put away), but we’re loving our new place together. Then just last weekend we headed up north in Providence, RI for his brother’s wedding. It was so wonderful to see the family and celebrate the marriage of such a beautiful couple!

Due to all of the chaos of moving and traveling, we’ve been eating out a ton and not getting our workouts in. I am someone who really likes and needs a daily routine, so I haven’t been feeling my best lately (way too much take-out, wine and lack of sleep will do that to you.)

But I am excited for my favorite month, October, to be the kick-start back into eating well and getting into a consistent workout schedule! I’m also taking this new month to set a few personal goals for myself.

1. Daily Gratitude Journal. I’ve seen a few people do this and I think it’s a great idea. Every night before I go to sleep, I will write down one thing I am most grateful for that day. It’s important to focus on the positive things in life!

2. Read More. Since we moved a little farther out into Arlington, I have added about 10-15 minutes to my daily commute. So, I want to make sure I bring reading material with me on the metro and also take more time to read in the evenings, too.

3. Pound the Pavement. I have not been running consistently all summer. Once June/July hits DC, I immediately want to be indoors and just about cry when I think of running in the humidity. Luckily, the weather is starting to cool off here and I’m excited to get back into training for some races (more on that soon!)

4. See My Friends. With all this travel and the move sucking me into a black hole of shopping and organizing (which is only fun for a little bit and then becomes overwhelming) I haven’t seen my friends in what feels like ages. I’m ready for fun and I miss you all!

Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for some new fall recipes and workouts 🙂

Leave a comment